Simple Child Support Calculator
For a simple and easy calculation of child support in Arizona, we suggest trying the Stewart Law Group calculator. Arizona appears to lack an official, government calculator that is easy to use.
The Stewart Law Group calculator is quite simple and easy to use. But note that the estimator may not always be accurate and up to date for 2021. For a more reliable assessment, you can try the official version.
In the state of Arizona, the result of an online calculation should be interpreted carefully. You should treat the estimate as just a preliminary indication of the child support amount you could receive or be required to pay.
Parenting Time Calculator for Arizona
According to Arizona child support guidelines, payment amounts depend on how much time a child spends with the non-custodial parent.
Use this calculator to work out how much care the non-custodial parent provides. Remember to add in all fractions of days when the non-custodial parent has parenting time.
Calculate parenting time %
Vacation days each year*
183 days per year.
50.0% of parenting time.
* Vacation days are all days when the regular schedule does not apply.
How Child Support is Calculated in Arizona
Child support payments in Arizona are calculated using the income shares method. Payments depend on the combined incomes of the parents as well as the number of children. A larger combined income or more children usually means greater payments.
The amount paid or received by an individual parent also depends on income and parenting time percentages.
- If your income percentage (your share of combined income) is higher than your care percentage (share of parenting time), you are probably the payer.
- The receiver is normally the parent with a care percentage above their income percentage.
Arizonans paying the most child support have high incomes and rarely look after their children. On the flipside, the biggest receivers are parents who (a) work little (b) have their kids nearly all the time and (c) have a high earner as the other parent.
For the non-custodial parent, a care period of 12-24 hours (excluding school hours) counts as one day; 6-11 hours counts as a half-day; and 3-5 hours counts as a quarter-day. Periods of less than 3 hours may count as a quarter-day if, during those hours, the non-residential parent pays for expenses such as meals.
In Arizona, calculations are based on the Child Support Guidelines. They provide a complex formula based on the income of both parents, the amount of time they spend with children, the needs of the children and whether the parents have joint custody. The guidelines also provide numerous examples that show exactly how the calculation is made.AZ Family Law Team
Arizonan child support guidelines apply to the whole state, including the cities of Phoenix, Tucson, Mesa, Chandler, Scottsdale, Glendale and Gilbert. Variations in support payments may be made by the agreement of parents or at the discretion of a judge presiding over your case.
Payment Calculators by State