Simple Child Support Calculator
For a simple and easy calculation of child support in Nevada, we suggest trying the Right Lawyers calculator. Nevada appears to lack an official, government-sponsored calculator that is reliable and easy to use.
The Right Lawyers calculator is quite simple and easy to use. But note that the estimator may not always be accurate and completely up to date for 2021.
In the state of Nevada, the result of an online calculation should normally be interpreted carefully. You should treat the estimate as no more than a preliminary indication of the child support amount you could receive or be required to pay.
Nevada Parenting Time Calculator
While Nevada child support guidelines focus on which parent is the "custodial parent", parenting time shares have the potential to affect child support. Actual parenting time percentages could influence the order a judge makes or how much parents agree to.
Use this overnights calculator to work out your parenting time percentage. Most states measure parenting time based on overnight stays.
Calculate annual overnight stays
Vacation nights each year*
183 overnight stays per year.
50.0% of parenting time.
* Vacation nights are all nights when the regular schedule does not apply.
How Child Support is Calculated in Nevada
Child support payments in Nevada are calculated using the income percentage method. Payments are calculated as a fraction of the non-custodial parent’s income. The more children involved, the higher amount that will generally have to be paid.
Nevadans paying the most child support have high incomes and multiple children. The biggest recipients of child support are parents with primary care of multiple children where the paying parent has a high income.
Joint custody is where the children reside with each parent close to 50% of the time. Primary custody is where the children reside with a parent 61% of the time or more. For joint custody, the parent making the higher income will pay support. When calculating support for primary custody, you only use the income of "non-primary" parent.
For one child, the paying parent pays 16% of their first $60,000 of gross income. They pay 8% of gross income from $60,001-$100,000, and 4% of gross income above $100,000. There are higher amounts for additional children. Nevada Revised Statutes 125B creates the rules for calculating child support in Nevada. Half Price Lawyers
Nevadan child support guidelines apply to the whole state, including the cities of Las Vegas, Henderson, Reno, North Las Vegas, Paradise and Spring Valley. Variations in support payments may be made by the agreement of parents or at the discretion of a judge presiding over your case.
Payment Calculators by State